Troop 48's
PUBLIC SITE
Home Page
Vision-Mission-Aims


 
Boy Scout Troop 48
(Edina, Minnesota)
 
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login
http://troop48edina.ScoutLander.com

  
 
Troop 48 - Edina
A BOY-LED, ADVENTURE-ORIENTED TROOP!
http://troop48edina.ScoutLander.com

Just the Right Size:


Troop 48 is a moderate-sized troop of approximately 35 boys. Because of our medium size and our boy led focus, the Troop strives to develop each boy individually. The Troop is supported by a dedicated group of trained scouters and parents. 


Collaborative Groups for Enriched Learning and Development:


Boys of all ages work together in patrols on advancement and in planning our many adventures.  After the first year, we mix the age of the boys in each Patrol and it has been a big success. The younger boys really enjoy being friends with and learning from the older boys in their patrols and the older boys enjoy mentoring the younger boys.


Adventure-based learning and growth:


We believe the best way for boys to develop leadership and wise decision-making skills is involvement in challenging activities including: 

  • White Water Canoeing
  • Rock climbing
  • Backpacking at various State Parks
  • Annual Klondike Derby with ice activities
  • 5, 10 and 20 mile hikes
  • Flying Airplanes
  • Service Activities including:  Eagle Projects, Ft Snelling Wreath Clean Up, Edina Day of Service & outside service work for Calvary Church.

High Adventure Treks for Older Scouts:  In addition to monthly camping activities, we understand older Scouts need more physically and mentally demand activities for growth.  To that end, we plan at least one high adventure trip per year including:

 

  • Boundary Waters Canoeing Treks
  • High adventure treks in Colorado, Utah and Vancouver BC
  • OK-PIK Dog Sledding in Northern MN
  • Backpacking Treks exceeding 70 miles at Philmont Scout Ranch in NM
  • Out-Island Camping/Fishing/Sailing in the Florida Keys at BSA Seabase

Meeting Location: Calvary Lutheran Church (our sponsor/Charter Organization), 6817 Antrim Rd, Edina, twice per month on Monday 7:00 – 8:15 p.m.

For more information, contact troop committee chair Tim Duffy at tsduffy@comcast.net 

2021-2022 TROOP EVENTS


September
Sunday, Sep 12: PLC Meeting
Monday, Sep 13: Troop Meeting with Concurrent Parent Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Friday - Sunday, Sep 17-19:  Troop Camping – Canoeing at Brule River State Park
Date TBD:  Service Activity - School Night for Scouting, Pack 48 – Creek Valley Elementary
•            Monday, Sept 27: Troop Meeting - Calvary Lutheran Church


October
Sunday, Oct 10: PLC Meeting
Monday, Oct 11: Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Friday - Sunday, Oct 15-17: Troop Camping – Location TBD
Sunday, Oct 24: Advancement Sunday – Calvary Lutheran Church
Monday, Oct 25: Troop Meeting and Boards of Review – Calvary Lutheran Church
Date TBD: Service Activity – Calvary Lutheran Church Fall Cleanup

November
Monday, Nov 1: Service Activity (Voting setup) – Calvary Lutheran Church
Sunday, Nov 7: PLC Meeting
Monday, Nov 8: Troop Meeting and Court of Honor – Calvary Lutheran Church
Friday - Sunday, Nov 12-14: Troop Camping – “Troop Thanksgiving” at Stearns Scout Camp
Monday, Nov 29: Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

December
Sunday, Dec 5: PLC Meeting
Monday, Dec 6: Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Saturday, Dec 18: Service Activity (Salvation Army Bell Ringing) – Macy’s Southdale
Saturday, Dec 18: Recruiting Activity – Gleason’s Gym
Saturday, Dec 18: Troop Lock-in – Calvary Lutheran Church
Monday, Dec 20: Troop Meeting and Boards of Review – Calvary Lutheran Church

January
Sunday, Jan 9: PLC Meeting
Monday, Jan 10: Troop Meeting and mini-Court of Honor – Calvary Lutheran Church
Dave TBD:  Troop Camping:  Okpik Cold Weather Camping
Monday, Jan 24: Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Date TBD:  Webelos Cross-over – Calvary Lutheran Church

February
Saturday, Feb 5: Service Activity (Wreath cleanup) – Fort Snelling National Cemetery
Sunday, Feb 6: PLC Meeting
Monday, Feb 7: Troop Meeting with Concurrent Parent Meeting for new scout parents
Saturday, Feb 12: Troop Outdoor Activity – Ice Fishing on Bryant Lake
Monday, Feb 28: Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

March
Sunday, Mar 6: PLC Meeting
Monday, Mar 7:  Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Friday - Sunday, Mar 11-13:  Troop Camping – Location TBD
Saturday-Friday, Mar 19-25:  High Adventure Camping – Bahamas SeaBase Tall Ships Adventure
Monday, Mar 28:  Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

April
Sunday, Apr 3:  PLC Meeting
Monday, Apr 4:  Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church
Saturday, Apr 16:  Advancement Sunday (on a Saturday)
Monday, Apr 18:  Troop Meeting and Boards of Review
Friday - Sunday, Apr 22-24:  Troop Camping: Location TBD
Date TBD:  Service Activity – Calvary Church Spring Clean-Up

May
Sunday, May 1:  PLC Meeting
Monday, May 2:  Troop Meeting and Court of Honor
Friday - Sunday, May 13-15:  Troop Camping – Mountain Biking at location TBD
Monday, May 16:  Troop Meeting, Many Point prep and PLC Nominations

June
Sunday, Jun 5:  PLC Meeting
Monday, Jun 6:  Final Troop Meeting, Many Point Prep and PLC Elections

July
Sunday-Saturday, Jul 24-30:  Troop Camping – Many Point Scout Camp